Character Building · Christian Thoughts · Mommy Talk · Parenting

Nothing But the Blood of Jesus

Temperature dictates a lot for me when it comes to picking up my daughter from school. It goes like this: If it’s 35 degrees outside or warmer, we walk to pick her up. If it’s below 35, we drive. It’s a short, pleasant walk to her school. One we prefer to make when we can. We take the double decker – mother-of-all-strollers – stroller with the glider board attached for my eldest to stand (or sit) on, as she pleases. For the most part, this set up works for everyone. Each child is allotted his/her own space while sharing a general happiness to simply be outside exploring the world around them. Our walk home consists of a short stop to see the Haddonfield Dinosaur. Then a moment to view an antique train in a store window. And we wrap up by going to the train station to see the trains passing by. The walk home really is an adventure.

IMG_8828

But sometimes we hit a bump. Literally. As in crooked sidewalks collide with our monster truck stroller. BAM. And the one who gets it worst, is my eldest who is standing with her chin resting on the handle. A bump usually means her chin has made contact with the handle in a very painful way. I know it’s real pain when the reaction is slow. Silence crescendos to screaming as I survey the damage. When I see blood I DO NOT mention it. I try to gauge if she is okay and if there is any real concern. Because I know the second she knows there’s blood – – she’s going NEXT LEVEL bonkers. Recently this happened. We hit a bump, she cried, I saw blood, I held her, assuring her she was ok. She started to calm down . . . until she went to nurse the battle wound and discovered the horrifying truth. BLOOD. Without hesitation, she screamed, “BLOOOOOOOOOOD, MOMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYY.” She was right. There was a tiny little bit of blood. I tried to convince her that it would heal quickly and not to worry. She was not convinced as she re-wiped her lip and screamed in horror again. “BLOOOOOOOOOD MOOOMMMMMMMMYYYYY!” Blood made the bump 10,000 times worse than if there had been none.

Blood. The sign of something wrong. Surely, there are a few happy blood moments. Like when a child loses a tooth or a woman has a baby. But I can’t imagine ANY blood-related circumstances that aren’t accompanied with pain. (Can you?) Most of us abhor blood. Or panic when we see it. We are afraid of blood. We are afraid of what it means. When any of my kids get hurt the first thing I look for (nervously) is blood. I have a Dad-friend whose house rule is not to come tell on anyone in the house unless there is blood. Why? Because blood needs attention. It’s a part of our insides, coming out.

One of its great purposes is to serve as proof that we are living beings. It’s part of a circulatory system that keeps our bodies working. Blood transfusions are necessary for those who can’t survive without one. Healthy, flowing blood is a sign of a being a LIVING being.

But, good grief, we don’t want to see it.

We know it’s there.

But please, keep me far from seeing it.

So, this is why it always feels a little funny? off-putting? strange? when we sing “Nothing But the Blood of Jesus” at church. I often wonder if someone wasn’t familiar with Christianity what they would think of this song. “What can wash away my sins?… Nothing but the BLOOD of Jesus?!” No, seriously, I don’t want to be within an inch of fresh blood – how would Jesus’ blood wash away my sins?

In Old Testament times, animal sacrifices were made on behalf of the people’s sins. The priest would present a blameless lamb to be sacrificed and God’s forgiveness was given in return for the sacrifice of the perfect, unblemished lamb. The presence of blood from the sacrifice was the offering for forgiveness. Every sin needed a sacrifice to make peace with God.

Jesus, the perfect son of God, became the sacrificial lamb. His death on the cross was the FINAL SACRIFICE to be made for the forgiveness from God for all the sins of the world. Jesus’ blood was the sacrifice on the alter of God. His death and resurrection were proof of God’s plan for reconciliation with His people.

The blood of Jesus revealed to us his humanity. Proving he was human. His resurrection proving He was God’s Son.

His blood flowed so that we may live a full life both here on earth and for eternity in the presence of God. Do you believe this?

In this tender time leading up to Good Friday, consider the sacrifice of Jesus on the cross – dying for a depraved, sinful people – to give each one of us real, true, abundant life.  Don’t shy away from Jesus’ blood. (I know, cringe, right?!) In fact, take a moment to look into it. Stare at it. Embrace it. There’s no way around it. He died a public and humiliating death for you. His blood covered our sins. His resurrection assured us He was God.

It was warm enough to walk today. And walk right thru puddles.
It was warm enough to walk today. And walk right thru puddles.

It was warm enough to walk to pick up Olive from school today. We walked by the dinosaur, we paused briefly by the antique train in the window and we stood inside the train station as we waited and watched for trains to pass by. We are grateful for days like today.

It is the blood of Jesus that brings peace and life. And that IS what makes us SING.

Nothing But the Blood of Jesus

Written by Robert Lowry

What can wash away my sin?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
What can make me whole again?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Oh! precious is the flow
That makes me white as snow;
No other fount I know,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

For my pardon, this I see,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
For my cleansing this my plea,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Nothing can for sin atone,

Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
Naught of good that I have done,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

This is all my hope and peace,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
This is all my righteousness,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Now by this I’ll overcome—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
Now by this I’ll reach my home—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Glory! Glory! This I sing—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus,
All my praise for this I bring—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

